Cold Shower Power

Two days ago, a friend told me about cold shower therapy.


 Cold shower therapy

Cold sho·wer ther·a·py
noun

1. The act of taking one 5-minute (minimum) cold shower each day for 30 days to better oneself in getting comfortable with the uncomfortable.


In the safety of a Chinese restaurant, away from the immediate cold of the cold shower, I told her we should both do it.

Plus my fortune cookie told me so.

Fortune Cookie Cold Shower

Indisputable argument. It was a sign.

 

My other friend who was at lunch with us politely declined.


Between that moment and this post, I discovered a number of things:

  1. There is an app for Cold Shower Therapy. It has several features, including a reminder to take a cold shower everyday, and a countdown.
  2. My shower isn’t really cold, so I’ve resorted to borrowing other people’s showers to really feel that cold burn. I have one lined up for tomorrow.
  3. It really works.

Let me clarify. I’ve only taken two cold showers so far but I really do feel like it’s worth continuing. For one, I finally started blogging, something that’s been on my to-do list for a few months.

So here are a few things I equate to taking a cold shower:

  • Going to the gym
  • Making phone calls to strangers
  • Filling out and submitting job applications
  • Jumping off a cliff / boat / heights
  • Going to the bathroom in public places

(I’m mostly kidding about that last one.)

So tomorrow’s day 3 and I’m going to be taking a cold-er shower than the past 2 days. Wish me luck.

Pumpkin Cold Shower

My face before the cold shower hits. At least I’m not a cat.

P. S. For those of you who do not personally know me, or don’t know me that well, I would like to introduce you to my 4-year old cat, Pumpkin. She is a FIV-positive tabby that I adopted about a year and a half ago. She will often be my visual representation for events and emotions in my life.

One Comment

Leave a comment